Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Pirates Booty New Carrot Flavored Snacks Will Fool YOUR Kids Today and on Easter!

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this product, free of charge,from Pirate's Booty, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it


Yup, your  (and ours) favorite snack food is back with a NEW flavor,
JUST in time for Easter and April Fool's Day fun!

Meet the new flavor:

miss grace and pirates booty carrot snacks

Made with real carrots and corn, and a touch of sea salt,  Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks are baked, to make a crispy puff,  that is not only tasty, but also provides an excellent source of Vitamin A. Like their other products,  Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks are non-GMO and made without artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. The crunchy snack has 0 g of trans fat per serving and is gluten-free too. 

One bite and Miss Grace declared them "excellently awesome!".

Pirate's Booty has found a great way to sneak carrots, with Vitamin A into your kids' snack, without them realizing HOW good these snacks are for them!

They also came up with a great way to make some pretend carrots that 
ARE made from carrots this April Fool's Day:

Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks carrot snacks 1

Yup- make 'fake' carrots with the Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks, pirate's fool's gold and jewels to fool the eye!


Look pretty scrumptious don't they?

They are SO easy to make!

Simply take some frosting bags, like these, fill with the Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks, fake coins, and jewels, and maybe a thin necklace, or ring, and then tie off with some green raffia ribbon and waala, you have fake carrots!

Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks carrot snacks close up

 Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks will be available at your favorite retailers that carry Pirate's Booty Snacks, so run on over today and see if your store has them, and see if you can fool your kids today!

But be ye warned:


Your pirate just might want to use their fake sword to threaten the 'carrot' to loosen it's booty, and when it refuses, they might turn to another prate method:

Pirate's Booty Carrot Snacks carrot snacks and pirate grace

These 'carrots' would be fun for the Easter basket too, if you can't get them made for today!

Check out these new snacks, your kids will be thrilled you did! 



About Pirate Brands

Pirate Brands has been creating deliciously baked snack treasures since 1987. Pirate Brands was founded on the belief that you shouldn't have to "snackrifice" taste and fun for products made with goodness. Pirate Brands' snacks, which include Pirate's Booty,Smart Puffs and Original Tings, are free from fryers and ingredients you can't pronounce, Arr. For more information, please visit www.piratebrands.com.
Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Boardwalk Food Company Beer Bread Mix Will Enliven Your Spring Table (Review and Giveaway)

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this product, free of charge,from Boardwalk Company, via Tomoson, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it


Spring is here, and that doesn't have to mean the end of comfort foods!

Helping to take traditional breads into a more modern area, is Boardwalk Food Company .

boardwalk food co logo


The company is inspired by vacations with family and friends on the Boardwalk of Atlantic City, which were frequent throughout Founder and President Andy Yochum’s life. 

I came to realize that the Boardwalk was more than just a place; it was a state of mind,” says Yochum. “Our products make it possible to enjoy the carefree, simple, social aspects of vacation in your everyday life. They’re easy to make, and special enough to share with family and friends.” 

Their product line right now is focused on beer breads:

boardwalk food co beer rbead flavors

Made in America, the Boardwalk beer bread mixes are available in four flavors. Original, Lemon Poppy Seed, Rosemary Sea Salt and Cornbread.

We recently got to try out their Rosemary and Sea Salt blend.

boardwalk food co rosemary beer bread and ingredients

The mixes are SOOOO easy to make-just add beer, salt and butter, mix and bake, to make delicious beer bread!  Any 12 oz beer will work, adding to the fun of trying to decide which one you want for all the scrumptious taste options.Lager, ale, pilsener, stout, craft brews, the list of choices are endless. I decided to go with a local brew, and used Abita Amber with the Rosemary mix we were sent, hoping for a well-bodied bread. I did let my beer come to room temp, to better distribute the yeast in the bread, and to make for a higher loaf (old tip from great grandma!).

boardwalk food co rosemary beer bread loaf

Literally within an hour, from start to finish, we had a warm loaf of bread that not only smelled heavenly, it absorbed butter, adding to a great tasting piece of bread! The Rosemary can be a bit strong, Miss Grace for one said it tasted good, but wouldn't have more than a bite or two. She usually eats our cheesy beer bread, so I know it was just too much rosemary for her palate. The amber ale did work really well with the rosemary, making for a FULL flavored bread!


You can make your bread mix into a loaf of bread using a loaf pan, or use a mini muffin pan to create poppers, bite size balls of fun! I went with a traditional loaf, as I was serving it with baked chicken and potatoes. But I had thought about using half and half, and making both, but changed my mind when I smelled the bread after putting it together!

Boardwalk Food Company beer bread mixes retail for $7.99 each. and can be found at different stores around the country- use their store locator to find one closest to you. or you can order online through their website.- right now you can get FREE shipping if you order 6 boxes! 

The Boardwalk Food Company is a proud supporter of The Center for Building Hope,  which provides free information, programs and support to cancer patients, their families and caregivers, so you know your purchase is helping to give back to those in need!


flashing Win


Giveaway:
One lucky BTHM reader will win their own box to try out!



Good luck!

Book Review: Officer Elvis by Gary M. Gusick

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge, from Random House/Alibi Publishing, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it.



In the vein of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, Gary Gusick takes readers on an explosive ride-along with Mississippi detective Darla Cavannah, a Yankee transplant making her name in the Deep South., in this new book releasing mid April!


Synopsis:


After performing at a local old-folks home, off-duty police officer and part-time Elvis impersonator Tommy Reylander smoothes out his pompadour, climbs into his pink Caddy, and gets all shook up—€”fatally so, when a bomb explodes. Whether he was killed for his police work or bad singing is a mystery that detective Darla Cavannah is determined to solve. Though it'€™s been several years since Darla (reluctantly) partnered up with Tommy, she convinces her boss to let her lead the murder investigation.

As the new regional director of the Mississippi Bureau of Investigation, Shelby Mitchell can think of better uses for his star detective's time, but not even the most hardened good ole boy can resist Darla'€™s smart, savvy persuasions. She soon embarks on a roller coaster ride through the world of Elvis tribute artists while tracking down one of the most bizarre serial killers in the history of the Magnolia State. Aiding her pursuit of the killer is recently reprimanded officer Rita Gibbons, fresh from the trailer park and described by Shelby as "half a licorice stick short in the manners department." But Rita's plenty smart, even when this case takes their suspicious minds in an entirely unexpected direction.



Review:


This is the second book in the Darla Cavannah series (third book The Legacy due out next January) , by one of my favorite 'local' authors! Reading this book is like having a friend tell you a story by the campfire. He mentioned the local places and products you know and love, and incorporates them so well, that you feel like you are right there in the story! Gary takes on the sacredness' of Elvis impersonation and of Elvis himself and wraps it around an interesting mystery. Gary gives you enough info from the previous book, so that a new reader feels like they know enough about the character's background to enjoy the story and not feel like they are missing out on any important details, 


Like all things Elvis, this book is a bit of a guilty pleasure for Southern readers, as there is so much Southern culture incorporated into the story (the whole funeral description was a hoot and pretty much was spot on for any Southern funeral for instance). It takes a look at the good, and the bad, and shows how Darla is won over by it, and staying put. This series will grow on you, and makes for perfect reading outside in the wonderful Spring weather!




About the Author

Gary Gusick is a former advertising executive with more than thirty years experience as a copywriter and creative director. He is a winner of numerous national and international awards for creative excellence in advertising. 

You CAN Let It Snow Anytime of Year With These Earrings!

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received these products, free of charge, from Mega Merchants,
for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about them





I've told you about the great selections from The Orrous Collection before,
and I was happy to be able to wear another of the great sets of earrings for Miss Grace's birthday party:


These post earrings feature 18K white gold plated posts, punctuated with dazzling cubic zirconia snowflakes with 10-10.5 mm shell pearl attached (dangling). The delicate post also features a friction back.


Close ups are hard to get, due to the amount of SHINE off the snowflakes! But they are stunning!

These adorable Snowflake Earrings were perfect for adding a touch of 'Frozen' to my ears, while still being 'adult', and working with my wardrobe, not taking it over, as you can see below:


I had the earrings on all day (10 hours) and they never bothered me at all! I was really surprised as they seem like they would bother you after a while, but their weight is so evenly distributed, that that wasn't the case. The adults thought they were subtle and very pretty, the kids called them "cool, can I have them?". LOL.

Orrous & Co offers a full 3-Year warranty,covering manufacturing and material defects, for genuine branded Orrous & Co Fine Jewelry. They GUARANTEE your complete satisfaction too! Most of their earrings come in gold and silver tone, so you can get the look YOU want!

The Orrous & Co Collection contains many great earrings that would be perfect for Easter, a Spring/Summer wedding or Prom.

So if you need a pair of earrings the have just the right amount of bling,, but have classic styling, check out the entire Orrous & Co Collection over at Amazon!

Bless Their Little Giveaways Linky: March 31- April 6, 2015

blessings button