-->

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Book Review: The Devil's Necktie by John Lansing

Welcome to the surprise of the month-
a debut book of fiction that will leave you hungry for more!



Synopsis: In the vein of John Patterson and Patricia Cornwell, John Lansing taps into the real-live world of cops, crime, drugs and murder to deliver a sizzling whodunit.  Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants.  He worked in narcotics for 25 years and it was a line in the sand he never crossed.  But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids.  After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered—and Jack is the lead suspect.  

Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Colombian drug cartel, Jack Bertolino is forced to pull out all the stops to figure out exactly what Mia had gotten herself into and a way to clear his name.  As Jack delves deeper into the world of drug dealers and murderers, he uncovers an international drug ring, and the top players in this game knew Mia personally.  It is uncovered that Mia had a loving relationship with the son of a major drug lord, but she was never accepted into the family.  Despite this, the relationship bloomed, and Mia became pregnant.  Upon hearing this news, someone ordered her pregnancy terminated, forcibly.

Mia had spent the past few years getting revenge on the cartel family, right up until she got found out.  It just so happened that she reached out to Jack on the day of her death.  And now Jack is seeking revenge on behalf of his slain lover.


Review: Talk  about a roller coaster of a read- you will NOT want to put this book down- I finished it in less than 2 hours! You will be casting the movie/series in your head as your reading, like I was, as Lansing gives it the feel of a long screenplay that didn't get adapted to a movie (yet!). Lansing gives us a tale that makes you want to go back and read the prequel to find out more about the characters, only there isn't one (aha plan for the writer maybe?)!

You'll be surprised, shocked and happy all in one at the ending, which I won't give away. But suffice it to say that this book will make any reader of mysteries or police procedurals VERY happy and glad they picked it up to read! SO if you're looking for a new voice in mystery fiction, check out this book!


About the Author: John Lansing has spent the past two decades writing and producing network television.  He was a writer and producer for five years on “Walker, Texas Ranger.”  In the summer of 2010, he co-executive produced the ABC series “Scoundrels.”  John’s first book was Good Cop, Bad Money, a true crime tome with former NYPD Inspector Glen Morisano.  THE DEVIL’S NECKTIE is his first novel.  A native of Long Island, John now resides in Los Angeles.


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book, free of charge, from Gallery Books, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Great Deals for YOU!