Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Book Review: Cradle to Grave by Aline Templeton


Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book, free of charge, from Witness Impulse, via Edelweiss,  for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it


crafle to grave cover

Synopsis:

Who can you trust?

Accused of murdering the baby in her care, seemingly cold and measured nanny Lisa Stewart maintains her innocence. But when she changes her name and tries to flee, terrifying threats continue to follow her. Is she an innocent victim of public anger—or a calculating murderer on the run? Can Detective Marjory Fleming, dogged by her own past, uncover the truth?

This psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French and Susan Hill.


Review:
This is the 5th Marjory Fleming book I've reviewed and I have to admit, I LOVE this series. It really is one of my favorites of all time- the policing is authentic, the characters could be your neighbors and friends, and it brings us to the far reaches of Scotland! Once again Marjory and her team faces obstacles from within, from the press, and from a pretty wiley bunch of characters, each with their own agenda to complicate the investigation. I was very much reminded of Agatha Christie;s 'Ten Little Indians", with the idea of Marjory and Tam, being stuck in the house with most of the potential suspects, facing injuries and dealing with Marjory's past in the form of an actual rock star!  Obviously a much modernized take, but an homage none the less! It was interesting to see how the characters worked out personal issues that came out of the events of the previous book, and how they came back together to solve the mystery. Definitely one of the best books of the series! I highly recommend checking out the whole series this Summer!



About the Author: 

Aline Templeton lives in Edinburgh with her husband and their Dalmatian dog, in a house with a balcony built by an astronomer to observe the stars over the beautiful city skyline. She has worked in education and broadcasting and has written numerous articles and stories for newspapers and magazines. Her books have been published in translation in several European countries as well as in the United States. Check out her website, http://www.alinetempleton.co.ukfor more!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom