Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Book Review: The Canterbury Sisters by Kim Wright

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge, from Galley Books via Netgalley, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it


In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons—in the best Chaucer tradition—with eight other women along the way.

Che Milan’s life is falling apart. Not only has her longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage.

Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. In the best Chaucer tradition, the women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love. Che, who is a perfectionist and workaholic, loses her cell phone at the first stop and is forced to slow down and really notice the world around her, perhaps for the first time in years.

Through her adventures along the trail, Che finds herself opening up to new possibilities in life and discovers that the miracles of Canterbury can take surprising for


This book starts a little slow, but suddenly you're hooked and can't wait to keep turning the pages, to see what story each of the women will tell.The book was a really interesting way to help the main characters come to grips with the loss of her mother, by seeing her actions through other women, and their reasons they made similar decisions. Through others, she realizes the truth about her mother, and ultimately herself. This is a wonderful book to share with your mother, and wonderful women this upcoming Mother's Day! I can't recommend it enough and I'm looking forward to reading more books from Kim!

About the Author:

Kim Wright is the author of Love in Mid Air and The Unexpected Waltz and has been writing about travel, food, and wine for more than twenty years for many magazines, including Wine SpectatorSelfTravel & Leisure, and Vogue. She has twice won the Lowell Thomas Award for travel writing. She also ballroom dances competitively. Kim lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom