Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Book Review: the Kill Box by Nichole Christoff


Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge,from Random House, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it



Synopsis:

In an intense thriller that’s perfect for fans of Lee Child or Lisa Gardner, security specialist and PI Jamie Sinclair tackles a cold case that could cost her the one person who means the most to her.

Hardworking Jamie Sinclair can’t wait for the weekend. She plans to be off the clock and on the road to wine country with handsome military police officer Adam Barrett. But when a strung-out soldier takes an innocent woman hostage and forces his way into Jamie’s bedroom, everything changes.Jamie’s never seen the soldier before. But he’s no stranger to Barrett—and with one word he persuades Barrett to pack a duffel and leave Jamie in the lurch.

Jamie cannot fathom why Barrett would abandon her without explanation. But as the consequences of an unsolved crime threaten to catch up with him, a late-night phone call sends Jamie racing to Barrett’s hometown in upstate New York. In a tinderbox of shattered trust and long-buried secrets,Jamie must fight to uncover the truth about what really occurred one terrible night twenty years ago. And the secrets she discovers deep in Barrett’s past not only threaten their future together—they just might get her killed.

Review:

This is the 3rd book in the Jamie Sinclair series, and a great Junior entry! This was a super quick read, though I'm still not sure how well I like Adam and Jamie almost changing personalities. While I support female heroines saving the day, it makes me question why she would still be with that male character, as we know in real life it would have been over and done. You don't really need to have read the previous books, and it's probably you don't, as then you might be like me and rolling your eyes a lot during the book and wanting to shake Adam out of his personality change. But the mystery itself is very sound, and it will keeping you turning the pages. If you are looking for something new, check out this series!

About the Author:

Nichole Christoff is a writer, broadcaster, and military spouse who has worked on air and behind the scenes producing and promoting content for radio, television news, and the public relations industry across the United States and Canada.

Nic's first manuscript won the Romance Writers of America Golden Heart®. Her second won the Helen McCloy-Mystery Writers of America Scholarship. Nic has also been named as a finalist for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense and Killer Nashville's Claymore Dagger.

Nic has sipped champagne at the birthday celebration of His Majesty, the King of Thailand, played  party games at the residence of the British High Commissioner, and learned to make sushi from the chef to His Excellency, the Ambassador of Japan. When she isn't penning her latest novel, Nic teaches Creative Writing at a small, private university. Check out Nichole's Website, Twitter,  Facebook and Goodreads pages for more.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom