Thursday, February 18, 2016

Book Review: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook from William Morrow Publishing via Edelweiss, free of charge, for blog posting purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it

And now for one of THE books being talked about this month, that will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own. 

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery cover


For fans of Jojo Moyes and Elin Hilderbrand, an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

>But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Recipes included too!


I had finished another book, and knew I wasn't tired enough to sleep, so I opened this ebook and thought ok, I'll read for a bit, like an hour. THREE hours later I forced myself  to put it down and get some sleep as aI had to be UP in 3 hours! LOL. THAT is just how enchanting this book is! In many ways it reminds me of the Gilmour Girls show, in that the island has SO many 'quirky characters', there is great dialogue between them, and the writing is so well done, that you have no problem picturing every little detail of life on an island. Polly is normal. Ok so having a puffin as a pet and moving into a lighthouse isn't per se, NORMAL, but she is-all women will be able to relate to her anxieties, passions, fears and loyalty. Part of you will be wanting to make it into a TV show, and the other part will scream 'no! you'll ruin it!".

You don't need to have read the previous book in the series (Little Beach Street Bakery) to know how Polly landed owning said lighthouse, as Colgan gives you more than enough information, yet still leaves you wanting to go back and read the previous book! I would recommend NOT reading this book on an empty stomach, as the food descriptions will having you running to the kitchen! My screener did not have the recipes, but based on previous books from Colgan, they should be equally yummy! This is not a book to be missed, it will light up your Spring!

About the Author:

>Jenny Colgan is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe, Little Beach Street Bakery, and  all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland. Check out her website for more!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom