Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Howe About Some Great Books for Elementary Age Kids Summer Reading?

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge,from Harper Collins and Katherine Tegan Books, via Edelweiss, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about them



Once a week this month, I'll be sharing some great kids books with you, 
that are perfect for keeping the kids reading and flexing their brain muscles over the Summer!

Here's the first ones!

bridget wilder spy to the rescue

Bridget Wilder #2: Spy to the Rescue


Middle school meets Mission: Impossible in the second hilarious adventure of a girl whose life gets messy when her long-lost father recruits her to be a spy. 

When the top-secret spy agency that recruited Bridget turned out to be a fake, Bridget hoped her super-spy father would teach her his tricks, stealth codes, and martial-arts moves (WRONG!). Instead of drop-kicking evil villains and shooting lasers out of her lip gloss, he wants to bond over normal (aka BORING!) things like TV, fro-yo, and boy talk. But when Bridget gets framed for stealing cheerleading secrets and ruining the most glamorous party of the birthday season, her spy instincts kick in: she’s being set up. And when her spy dad goes missing, Bridget knows she’s the only one who can bring him back alive—official spy or not.

Now Bridget’s back in the spy game and on a plane headed straight to New York with her best friend by her side and a crafty nano-marble sidekick that does everything from hacking phones to taking down the fiercest enemy agent. Can she ditch her annoying older brother-slash-chaperone, squash a budding crush, and prevent global disaster before her mom texts to check in? Or are Bridget’s days as a spy over, this time for good?

It is no secret—Bridget Wilder: Spy to the Rescue is part of an explosive new series packed with humor, high-tech gadgets, and best of all: girl power. It comes out at the end of the Month!


Review:

Aimed at kids ages 8-12, Miss Grace eagerly scarfed this book up! She loved Bridget's original hijinks and was happy to see her back in action! Everything she loved from the first book- the humor, the gadgets, the action, are back and Bridget is her same lovable self! She raced through the first book, so I wasn't surprised she did with this one too! But with all the sameness of the first book, the characters are growing and aging and the book shows this. Of your kids love the SpyKids movies, and American Girl books, they will definitely love this series, that gives them their own Spy heroine!

And be sure to have your kids check out the Author's website, for some fun blog style notes from Bridget AND a look at chapters from Bridget Wilder: Boys Don't Spy short story!


The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper cover


The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

Pixie Piper, an ordinary fifth grader, discovers she is a direct descendent of Mother Goose, and she has the magical ability and poetry power to prove it! A lively and funny twist on a classic character for fans of the Clementine books, Wendy Mass, and Lisa Graff.

Fifth grader Pixie Piper has always known she was a little different. She has a wild mop of hair that won’t stay put, her best friend is a boy, and to top it all off, she’s constantly coming up with rhymes and poems that just seem to pop out of her. Then, when Pixie thinks it can’t get any worse, she finds out that she actually is different—she’s a descendant of Mother Goose! This surprising and clever novel features family, friendship, poetry, a toilet museum, just the right amount of magic, as well as a goose, a fox, and a beautiful golden retriever puppy. Rich, multigenerational characters and the real and powerful portrayal of grade school friendships, with all their ups and downs, distinguishes this terrific elementary school story that will appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and novels by Wendy Mass and Lisa Graff. This is the first of two books about Pixie Piper. Features black-and-white spot art throughout. It comes out today!

Review:

Aimed at the same age crowd, this book was another bit hit with Miss Grace! She loved how the nursery rhymes were integrated into the story, and how Pixie and her menagerie, navigate the world of friendship and all the drama of upper grade school. It's perfect to help girls understand the beginnings of 'mean girlness' (though unfortunately most of them have been probably dealing with it for years already at school) and a reminder of how our actions and words affect others. Miss Grace also loved how the friends were all different. The illustrations were perfect for the book, and Miss grace can't wait to read the next one in the series!



flashing Win


Giveaway:

To help get your kids on the path to reading, how about a copy of 
Bridget Wilder: Spy in Training, Book 1?


No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom