Monday, August 8, 2016

Book Review: Devil Sent the Rain by Lisa Turner

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge,from  harper Collins, via Edelweiss, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about them.

Following in the footsteps of Lisa Gardner and Tom Franklin and for fans of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, bestselling author Lisa Turner’s Detective Billy Able returns in this dark southern Gothic mystery about the murder of a stunning Memphis socialite—and the scandals that are uncovered in the wake of her death.

this new book comes out next month, and it's perfect for ushering in Fall, so be sure to have it on your reading list!

devil sent the rain cover


After solving the sensational Sid Garrett case, Billy Able is ready to settle back into the life of a homicide detective at the Memphis Police Department. Working with his new partner, Detective Frankie Malone, their high rate for solving crime is bringing the department out of its slump, and Billy’s boss couldn’t be happier. The good life is finally swinging in Billy’s direction…or so he believes. Called to the murder scene of a beautiful Memphis high society attorney, Billy is shocked to discover he has a personal connection to the victim. And when the attorney’s death exposes illegal practices at her family’s prestigious law firm, the scandal is enough to rock the southern city’s social world and Billy’s own family. 

In a tale of the remnants of Old Southern aristocracy and entitlement, twisted into avarice and vengeance, Billy must confront the secrets of his own past to have any chance at solving the murder of a girl he once knew. But as he gets closer to discovering the truth, he also gets closer to a cunning killer who’s bent on getting away with murder—and eliminating the threat Billy poses.


LOVE LOVE LOVE this book! If you want a book that reminds you of what a great police procedural/partner book should be, this is it! Malone and Able may be new partners, but they perfectly compliment each other, yin to yang! And in a case that takes them literally in 6 degrees of separation and directions, and seeing how they put all the pieces together really makes their partnership a delight. Add in a quest of 'can you go home again' to the memories of your youth twist and dealing with 'Southern rules' of engagement and history, and you have a book you literally can NOT put down. Seriously I read it in one sitting! I stayed up to 3 am, but it was well worth it! The series continues to amaze me with it's Southern gothic takes on traditional police procedural, and I can't wait for the next book!

About the Author:
Born in Memphis, Lisa Turner is a southern mystery author who coils the roots of Southern identity around her characters, then pushes them to the edgeFascinated by good people who do wicked things, Southern mystery author Lisa Turner examines human nature against the rich backdrop of Memphis and the Mississippi Delta. 

Her debut novel, A Little Death in Dixie, raced to the top of Amazon’s Kindle bestsellers list and nudged Mockingjay – the third book in The Hunger Games series – out of first place. That was followed by a two-book contract with the William Morrow imprint of HarperCollins. Her second novel, The Gone Dead Train, explores lost secrets from the Memphis civil rights movement and the mysterious power of Santeria magic. A 2015 Edgar Award nominee, Turner’s mysteries coil the roots of Southern identity around her characters and then drags them into a world of blues, murder, and heartbreak. “I’m a story archeologist,” she says. “I keep digging into my characters until I strike the bone.”

She travels between her ancestral home in the Deep South and her writing haven on the wildly beautiful coast of Nova Scotia.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom