Friday, May 26, 2017

Recipe Weekend / Book Review: The Cafe by the Sea by Jenny Colgan

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received these products free of charge,from Harper Collins for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it,  all opinions are my own.




This new book comes out next month, but you need to have it on your list now, 
as it is PERFECT for reading by the pool or beachside this Summer!

caFE BY THE SEA COVER

Synopsis:

The New York Times bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery and The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a new novel—a modern day retelling of the classic story Seven Brides for Seven Brothers—perfect for fans of Meg Donohue, Elin Hilderbrand, and Sophie Kinsella

A London girl-about-town returns to her family’s farm on a small Scottish island following her mother’s death. Her father and her four brothers remain, and it’s up to them to run the farm. But as she soon discovers, they aren’t quite up to the task, and need all the help they can get.


Leaving behind a bustling, high-stakes life in the city, our heroine builds a life for herself in her hometown, opening a café using the local produce of the region. And romance isn’t far behind…


Review:

Most of us can relate to the single girl in a family getting caught up in the drugery of housework and yearning to move to the big city and get AWAY from all boredom of everyday life. But is it really BETTER? And as we know, sometimes what we wish for, isn't really what we NEED or want, as we find out after we get it. this is an adorable tale that will have you rooting for different characters at different times, but in the end the modern twist on the tale still gives the reader a VERY happy ending! It might also make you yearn for the endless nights of Northern Scotland too, thanks to Jenny's amazing descriptions of Mure! It's the perfect light read of the Summer that will leave you smiling at book's end, so don't miss this one!

Lucky us, Jenny also gives the eader some of the amazing local recipes frm the book!

Recipe:

Here's a traditional Scottish recipe from the book, perfect for using with Jam made with Summer fruits!



About the Author:

Jenny Colgan is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Café, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Meet Me at the Cupcake Café, all international bestsellers. Jenny is a native of Scotland, and is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logo