> Bless Their Hearts Mom
Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Wordless Wednesday: Cat in da Box!

cat in box 1

cat in box 2

Staycation with a Book this Summer- Top Shelf Summer $10 Amazon Card Giveaway!


top shelf meme button

If you've been a long time reader of this blog, then you know one of our monthly mainstays was the Top Shelf book giveaway. Featuring review books, cds, and even DVDs, it was a way for you to win some of the items reviewed here on BTHM, but PHYSICAL books are no longer the norm, from our publishers, sooooo we've had to shake up the Top Shelf giveaway!

Changing to an Amazon card instead of physical books, seems to have been a hit with ya'll, so we're keeping it up, just reducing the amount of giveaways, to seasonal Top Shelf giveaways, via an amazon card!

amazon gift card

So now you can win a $10 Amazon e-card to buy the book that 
YOU want, or  the cookbook you want, or buy  2/3 kindle books!
the choice is YOURS, as a thank you for your continued reading of this blog!

flashing Win

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Rethink Modern Culture Thanks to GenTech: An American Story of Technology, Change and Who We Really Are by Dr. Rick Chromey

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook from IreadBookTours, free of charge, for review purposes on this blog. No compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it, all opinions are my own


                    
We are uniquely shaped by innovations that influenced us during our "coming of age" years between 10 and 25.

gentech banner

It is the technological interactions in our adolescence and college years that guide our generational frames more than anything else, not the day we were born.We are generations of technology. We are GenTech.   - Dr. Rick Chromey

gentech cover

Synopsis:

Every twenty years a new generation rises, but who and what defines these generations? And could current generational tags mislead and miss the point? In this insightful analysis of technology history since 1900, Dr. Rick Chromey offers a fresh perspective for understanding what makes a generation tick and differ from others. Within GenTech, readers learn how every generation uniquely interacts with particular technologies that define historical temperament and personality and why current generational labels are more fluid than fixed, and more loopy than linear. Consequently, three major generational constellations emerge, each containing four, twenty-year generations that overlap, merge, and blend:
  • The Audio Generations (1900-1950): Transportation-Telephone Generation (1900-1920), Motion Picture Generation (1910-1930), Radio Generation (1920-1940), Vinyl Record Generation (1930-1950)
  • The Visual Generations (1940-1990): Television Generation (1940-1960), Space Generation (1950-1970), Gamer Generation (1960-1980) and Cable Television Generation (1970-1990)
  • The Digital Generations (1980-2000): Personal Computer-Cell Phone Generation (1980-2000), Net Generation (1990-2010), iTech Generation (2000-2020), and Robotics Generation (2010-2030). Dive in and revel in this exciting, compelling, and novel perspective to understanding recent American generations with GenTech

Check out the Book Trailer:


About the Book:

Category:  Adult Non-fiction 18 yrs +,  328 pages
Genre:  History / Cultural & Technical History
Publisher:  Morgan James Publishing
Release date:   May 26, 2020
Content Rating:  G : This is a non-fiction book about our technical history 
and how it has shaped our culture.

Review:

This is a book you need to take your time with, and really delve into each of the chapters. The author does a great job, breaking down out different generations right now, and explaining not only why are they different based on the technology that is their foundation, but also how they think (which is based on how they experience life through that technology). 

Being born at the end of one generation and right prior to another, I am on that second wave of a generational group and have a foot in both. It has given me a different perspective, and now I see why in reading this book. The funny thing is my daughter is the same, and she is on the border of two waves of one generation. It has helped me really understand how she thinks vs how I was raised / how I think. When we say kids nowadays are born intuitively knowing technology, we really are speaking the truth. For them, technology has always been constantly around them,  and is something they do not understand not having. Our recent pandemic,  if you think about it, would have been very very different, if the internet had not been around. For my generation of latch key kids, we would have survived like we always do (ie think post-Hurricane Katrina) . But our kids? That would have been a totally different story, and meltdowns would have been on a colossal level.

This book is really more than just talking about societal norms and culture, it's about helping the different generations not only understand each other, but learn how to parent the younger generations. While you may not think of this as a parenting book, it's what it truly is! It helps you to understand your parents and then how to parent your kids. It's unique for those of us who will find ourselves in the middle and having to deal with three generations in one household!

I really urge everyone to read this book, young and old, as again,  it not only helps you with your family, but it can help you with co-workers and employers. By understanding their different thought processes, based on technology experience, you learn the core of how they experience life. It's also an interesting look at our previous generations in the inventions that defined them oh, and the children born during them and influenced by them during their formative years, making it great for those who love history books as well. This is your must-read for the Summer!

Order Now:

Amazon.com ~ Barnes & Noble ~ IndieBound
BAM ~ Powell's ~ Indigo ~ Rediscovered Books




flashing Win


Giveaway:​

Win 1 of 2 print or 1 of 3 ebook of GENTECH (open USA & Canada) (5 winners) 

 (ends July 6)

Enter the Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


About the Author:


Rick Chromey
Rick Chromey is a cultural explorer, social historian and generational futurist. He’s also served as a pastor, professor, speaker/trainer, and consultant. In 2017, he founded MANNA! Educational Services International to inspire and equip leaders, teachers, pastors, and parents. Rick has a doctorate in leadership and the emerging culture; and travels the U.S. and world to speak on culture, faith, history, education, and leadership topics. He has authored over a dozen books on leadership, natural motivation, creative communication, and classroom management. He lives with his wife, Linda, in Meridian, Idaho.

Connect with the Author: website ~ youtube ~ facebook ~ twitter ~ instagram



Book Tour:

June 2 - Bless Their Hearts Mom – book review / guest post / giveaway
June 2 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review / giveaway
June 3 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
June 3 - Books for Books - book spotlight
June 4 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book review / giveaway
June 4 – Stephanie Jane – book spotlight / giveaway
June 5 – T's Stuff – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
June 8 – Books and Zebras – book review
June 9 – Svetlanas reads and views – book review
June 9 - Sefina Hawke's Books - book spotlight
June 10 – 411 On Books, Authors, And Publishing News – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
June 10 - Reader's Cozy Corner – book review / giveaway
June 10 - Mowgli with a book – book review
June 11 – Splashes of Joy – book review / author interview / giveaway
June 12 –Nighttime Reading Center – book review / giveaway
June 15 -The avid Reader – book review / giveaway
June 17 - Library of Clean Reads - book review / giveaway
June 19 - Buried Under Books - book review / guest post / giveaway
June 22 - Rockin' Book Reviews - book review / giveaway
June 24 - Olio by Marilyn - book spotlight / author interview
June 24 - Olio by Marilyn - book review / giveaway
June 29 - Adventurous Jessy - book review / giveaway

 
 

Bless Their Little Giveaways Linky:June 2-9, 2020

blessings button
Monday, June 1, 2020

Book Review: Fire and Vengeance by Robert McCaw

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook from Independent Publishers group, via EdelweissPlus, free of charge, for review purposes on this blog. No compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it, all opinions are my own


A heinous conspiracy—a volcano exacting revenge—an island paradise in anguish

Fire and Vengeance cover

Synopsis:

Having killed his father’s nemesis and gotten away with it, Hilo, Hawaiʻi Chief Detective Koa Kāne, is not your ordinary cop. Estranged from his younger brother, who has been convicted of multiple crimes, he is not from a typical law enforcement family. Yet, Koa’s secret demons fuel his unwavering drive to pursue justice.

Never has Koa’s motivation been greater than when he learns that an elementary school was placed atop a volcanic vent, which has now exploded. The subsequent murders of the school’s contractor and architect only add urgency to his search for the truth.

As Koa’s investigation heats up, his brother collapses in jail from a previously undiagnosed brain tumor. Using his connections, Koa devises a risky plan to win his brother’s freedom. As Koa gradually unravels the obscure connections between multiple suspects, he uncovers a 40 year-old conspiracy. When he is about to apprehend the perpetrators, his investigation suddenly becomes entwined with his brother’s future, forcing Koa to choose between justice for the victims and his brother’s freedom.

Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and James Lee Burke


Review:

This is the third Koa Kāne Hawaiian Mystery, and just as enjoyable as the first. Every time I read one of these books I learn even more about Ha'waii! My parents lived there for 3 years, so we got to see alot of Oahu, and learn about the other islands, and culture. But there is always something new to learn, as this book shows! Besides that though, you get a well laid out political mystery- who is behind the explosion, who is to blame, and who is killing to cover up that crime. It's a convulted web of lies and deceit, that Koa has to work through while facing a time limit to solve it and a family crisis. This one will keep you turning pages long into the night! it's like a vacation from your stay-cation! Don't miss it!


About the Author:

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family traveling the world. After graduating from Georgetown University, he served as a lieutenant in the U.S. Army before earning his law degree from the University of Virginia. After law school he spent a year as a judicial clerk for Supreme Court Justice Hugo L. Black. Thereafter, he was a partner in a major international law firm with offices in Washington, D.C. and New York City, representing clients in complex civil and criminal cases. For a number of years, McCaw maintained a home on the Big Island of Hawaii, studying its history, culture, and people. Putting himself in the shoes of Detective Koa Kāne, he has walked the streets, courthouse corridors, and parks of Hawaii’s Big Island. Bob lives in New York City with his wife, Calli


Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logoHomeschool Review Crew