Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Book Review and Giveaway: The Advent of Murder by Martha Ockley



Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book, free of charge, from the Kregel PR, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it

****

advent of murder cover

Synopsis:

Faith Morgan, former policewoman and vicar of the small English village of Little Worthy, goes to visit one of her parishioners at his farm, only to discover the house surrounded by police cars. A body has been found in the local river and farmer Markham is charged with murder.

Though busy with preparations for Christmas, Faith is called on to investigate when it’s found out that the victim is also a member of her congregation—Lucas Kemp, a member of the choir.

Faith’s informal inquiries lead her to uncover a hotbed of tensions and romantic rivalries in the choir, questions about drugs, and a run-in with an unsavory uncle—which leads to a dramatic rescue by Ben, Faith’s former detective partner and ex-boyfriend.

In the tradition of Father Brown and Miss Marple, The Advent of Murder brings readers an authentic picture of English rural and church life combined with a satisfying mystery that will keep readers guessing until the end.

You can read an excerpt on the publishers site!

Review:

This book reminded me of Clare Fergusson (of the Russ Van Alstyne mystery book series) combined with Geraldine from The Vicar of Dibley, ( the old BBC series)! I loved both of the series, so this is a good comparison! This was a wonderful read -full of plenty of characters that anyone from an older Episcopal (or really any christian denomination) church would recognize.Faith's search for the nativity donkey brought a lot of humor to the book, and anyone can relate to taking a job totally outside what you've done, and floundering at first til you get your bearings. Helping to solve the mystery of the death of one of her parishioners, helps her to find her way, and gives the reader an enjoyable read! 

I'm quite looking forward to the next book in this series, The Reluctant Detective!

About the Author:
Martha Ockley is the pen-name of Rebecca Jenkins. She read history at Oxford University, and spent several years working alongside her father, the Rt. Revd. David Jenkins (Bishop of Durham 1984-94) during the turbulence of the 1980s. She lives in Teesdale in the North East of England where the landscape and history provide the inspiration for her Regency detective, F R Jarrett. Since September 2009 she has been Royal Literary Fund Fellow and Writer in Residence at York St John University. She is a full-time author, writing both fiction and non-fiction. Check out her website for more info!

Ready to win this copy?






a Rafflecopter giveaway
finis flourish

1 comment:

  1. I commented here http://blesstheirheartsmom.blogspot.com/2013/12/cookbook-review-irish-pantry-by-noel.html?showComment=1387230063383#c8697611973417818465

    ReplyDelete

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom