Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Book Review: Dead in the Water by Aline Templeton

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book, free of charge, from Harper Collins  for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it

You know I LOVE a good British mystery, and I've gotten hooked on a few new (to me) authors, so you'll be seeing many reviews in the next month or their books, as I get caught up!

Dead in the Water cover

This moody and arresting thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French.

The young victim was pregnant, her body washed up on the rocks. Twenty years on, the murder remains unsolved; her father is now dead, and her mother refuses to talk about what went on all those years ago.
Detective Marjory Fleming is called in to reopen the case that her late father, a policeman, was unable to put to rest. As Fleming digs deeper, it becomes clear that her father struggled to keep secret some of the shameful details surrounding the young girl's death.

Can she handle the truth she will unearth, not just about her father but about herself?


Cold cases are all the rage in Law Enforcement circles and TV it seems these days, so no surprise they are popping up in our favorite author's books as well! But this new book takes a different slant- what if it was a case your FATHER worked. Someone you admired and modeled yourself after, who had recently died. Would you be able to be objective? What if your supervisor was on the case as well? Could you toe the line between keeping status quo and exposing the truth for all the good and bad that happened? Aline takes all of these ideas and wraps them around a mystery surrounding a mystery and slowing peels them away to show the strength of her primary character, Marjory, both as a woman (mother, wife) and career woman (cop, administrator), and of her team, the cast of supporting characters, who may be about to make decisions that upset the status quo. 

This book is a rollicking page turner, that will have fans holding their breaths, and applauding Aline for such a fine tale of a the choices a modern career woman, especially in law enforcement, has to make.i can't recommend this new book enough! I do recommend reading the series in it's correct order (this is book 5 out of 8), only ecause the books pick up where the previous one left off, so reading in series is much like watching a TV series as it airs, you don't feel like you are without info from previous episodes. Catch up this Summer, in time for the next book in the series! trust me, you'll LOVE this series!

About the Author:
Aline Templeton lives in Edinburgh with her husband and their Dalmatian dog, in a house with a balcony built by an astronomer to observe the stars over the beautiful city skyline. She has worked in education and broadcasting and has written numerous articles and stories for newspapers and magazines. Her books have been published in translation in several European countries as well as in the United States. Check out her website, http://www.alinetempleton.co.uk/ for more!

1 comment:

  1. Nicole, I have nominated you for the Sunshine award. See my write up about the award http://inspiredbooksguide.com/sunshine-award/.


Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom