Thursday, October 2, 2014

Book Review: To Dwell in Darkness by Deborah Crombie

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge, from William Morrow Publishing, via Edelweiss,  for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it

And now for a great Fall read, that comes out this month!
To Dwell in Darkness cover

Synopsis:
In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.
 Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.
The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss—who's been avoiding him—is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.


Review:

This was a great installment in the Insp. Duncan Kinkaid series! It echoes recent events and issues, but at the same time, brings us more of the interpersonal Kinkaid family life and the reader really gets to know all the characters better. It is said that tragedy brings out our true personality, and in this drama, all of the characters shine and show what makes them a great team, even if the 'team' has been split by divisional higher ups. It was interesting to see Kincaid and Gemma both working cases, while sharing personnel, out of different offices. Contrasting their work styles showed their dedication and what brought them together in the first place. This was an excellent installment in the series and will leave the reader wondering what will happen next!

About the Author:

DEBORAH CROMBIE is a native Texan who has lived in both England and Scotland. She lives in McKinney, Texas, sharing a house that is more than one hundred years old with her husband, three cats, and two German shepherds. For more check out her websitetwitter and facebook pages!

1 comment:

  1. I love crime drama type novels this sounds like it would be a perfect read for me.

    ReplyDelete

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom