Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Book Review: Officer Elvis by Gary M. Gusick

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge, from Random House/Alibi Publishing, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it.



In the vein of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, Gary Gusick takes readers on an explosive ride-along with Mississippi detective Darla Cavannah, a Yankee transplant making her name in the Deep South., in this new book releasing mid April!


Synopsis:


After performing at a local old-folks home, off-duty police officer and part-time Elvis impersonator Tommy Reylander smoothes out his pompadour, climbs into his pink Caddy, and gets all shook up—€”fatally so, when a bomb explodes. Whether he was killed for his police work or bad singing is a mystery that detective Darla Cavannah is determined to solve. Though it'€™s been several years since Darla (reluctantly) partnered up with Tommy, she convinces her boss to let her lead the murder investigation.

As the new regional director of the Mississippi Bureau of Investigation, Shelby Mitchell can think of better uses for his star detective's time, but not even the most hardened good ole boy can resist Darla'€™s smart, savvy persuasions. She soon embarks on a roller coaster ride through the world of Elvis tribute artists while tracking down one of the most bizarre serial killers in the history of the Magnolia State. Aiding her pursuit of the killer is recently reprimanded officer Rita Gibbons, fresh from the trailer park and described by Shelby as "half a licorice stick short in the manners department." But Rita's plenty smart, even when this case takes their suspicious minds in an entirely unexpected direction.



Review:



This is the second book in the Darla Cavannah series (third book The Legacy due out next January) , by one of my favorite 'local' authors! Reading this book is like having a friend tell you a story by the campfire. He mentioned the local places and products you know and love, and incorporates them so well, that you feel like you are right there in the story! Gary takes on the sacredness' of Elvis impersonation and of Elvis himself and wraps it around an interesting mystery. Gary gives you enough info from the previous book, so that a new reader feels like they know enough about the character's background to enjoy the story and not feel like they are missing out on any important details,  


Like all things Elvis, this book is a bit of a guilty pleasure for Southern readers, as there is so much Southern culture incorporated into the story (the whole funeral description was a hoot and pretty much was spot on for any Southern funeral for instance). It takes a look at the good, and the bad, and shows how Darla is won over by it, and staying put. This series will grow on you, and makes for perfect reading outside in the wonderful Spring weather!




About the Author

Gary Gusick is a former advertising executive with more than thirty years experience as a copywriter and creative director. He is a winner of numerous national and international awards for creative excellence in advertising. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom