Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Book Review: Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Marty Wingate

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge,from Penguin Publishing, via netgalley, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it

Perfect for fans of Laura Childs, Ellery Adams, and Jenn McKinlay, Marty Wingate's enchanting Potting Shed Mystery series heads to Scotland as Pru Parke plans her wedding . . . all while a vengeful murderer is poised to strike again. 

And it arrives in stores today!


After her romantic idyll with the debonair Detective Chief Inspector Christopher Pearse culminates in a marriage proposal, Pru Parke sets about arranging their nuptials while diving into a short-term gig at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. At hand is the authentication of a journal purportedly penned by eighteenth-century botanist and explorer Archibald Menzies. Compared to the chaos of wedding planning, studying the journal is an agreeable task . . . that is, until a search for a missing cat leads to the discovery of a dead body: One of Pru's colleagues has been conked on the head with a rock and dumped from a bridge into the Water of Leith.

Pru can't help wondering if the murder has something to do with the Menzies diary. Is the killer covering up a forgery? Among the police's many suspects are a fallen aristocrat turned furniture maker, Pru's overly solicitous assistant, even Pru herself. Now, in the midst of sheer torture by the likes of flamboyant wedding dress designers and eccentric church organists, Pru must also uncover the work of a sly murderer—unless this bride wants to walk down the aisle in handcuffs.


I love this series! This is book 3 in it. It's British chick lit mystery, that is perfect for reading beavh/pool side during the Summer, or for reading during the day when the kids are finally back in school!  This tale will have you guessing and reguessing as to what is really going on at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. I learned a LOT about Scottish botany and how plants were brought back to Europe.I love it when a book is fun, entertaining and educating! I will be eagerly awaiting the next book in the series to see where Pru and Pearse end up!

About the Author:

Marty Wingate is a regular contributor toCountry Gardens as well as other magazines. She also leads  gardening tours throughout England, Scotland, Ireland, France, and North America. She is the author of the Potting Shed and Birds of a Feather mystery series. Check out her website for more info.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom