Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Book Review: The Forgotten Ones by Brian McGilloway

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge,from Witness Impulse, via Edelweiss, 
for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it


From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lostcomes a brand-new thriller featuring Lucy Black—a twisting, gripping story of secrets and lies, perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Tana French.
The Forgotten Ones cover

Synopsis:
The body of an elderly man is hauled out of the rushing water of the River Foyle, cold dead. Detective Lucy Black is called in to investigate when it becomes evident that this was not a suicide: the man's body was embalmed before it ever entered the water.
Confounded and exhausted, Lucy heads home to review the case in quiet; but there will be no rest for her tonight. She's barely in the front door when a neighbor knocks because his wife's sister has been attacked and they need her help.
As a string of strange crimes is unspooled throughout the city, Lucy is pulled in countless different directions… until she realizes there may be something dark and dangerous connecting everything.

Review
This is the 3rd book in the Lucky Black series, and it's a doozy! What seems to be a simple mistake turns into a mystery that unravels into one mystery after another, that will keep the reader turning the pages over and over. Add to that a drama that has intruded into her home life and overlapping issues at work, and you you have Lucy going 40 ways at once, trying to resolve everything she can. Once again though Lucy thinks outside the box (like all proper fictional British detectives seem to do!), and finds the thread that ultimately ties everything together and solves the mystery at hand. Another satisfying read from Brian, and perfect for reading during those now quiet school hours! 

About the Author:
Brian McGilloway is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Inspector Benedict Devlin and DS Lucy Black series. He lives near the Irish borderlands with his wife, daughter, and three sons.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom