Monday, October 17, 2016

Book Review: Beneath the Ashes by Jane Isaac

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge,from Legend Press, via netgalley, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it,  all opinions are my own.

beneath the ashes cover


The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.
When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate.
Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret.
Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim?
A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah


This is the second DI Will Jackman book, the first being Before It's Too Late. And I have to admit, I;m already eagerly waiting the next book in the series! Plus, I;m going back to read the 2 books in the two books in the DCI Helen Lavery series, which this series came off of. Jane writes her police procedurals with a hint of something different and fresh, that makes the reader sit up and take notice, while they are rapidly reading through the pages, trying to anticipate what will happen next! Just when the reader thinks they have everything solved, a new twist is given that blows the entire theory apart. Pretty much like real life! I stayed up waaaayy to late in the am, trying to finish this one in one sitting (almost made it-had 2 chapters left and couldn't keep my eyes open!). Don't miss this new series, everybody will be talking about ti real soon!

About the Author:

Jane Isaac lives with her husband, daughter and dog, Bollo, in rural Northamptonshire. Her first novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, was published in the US in 2012 and nominated as best mystery in the 'eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013'. The Truth Will Out, was selected 'Crime Thriller of the Month by E' and 'Noveltunity Book Club Winning Selection. Before It's Too Late was published 1st June 2015. Check out her website for more!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom