> Bless Their Hearts Mom: Book Review: the Lewis Man by Peter May
Monday, September 1, 2014

Book Review: the Lewis Man by Peter May

edelweiss disclosure

The Blackhouse, was the the first novel in the Fin Macleod series, that introduced us to the outer Hebrides islands and a detective, who doesn't really want to be one!

It's appropriate to end today's Labor Day posts with this book, about a man who decides to give up the job 'he 'fell into' and go back to his roots, to figure out what to do next! 

lewis man cover


In this second book of the Fin Macleod trilogy, Fin has returned to the Isle of Lewis, the storm-tossed, wind-scoured outer Hebridean island where he was born and raised (and the focus of the first book). Having left behind his adult life in Edinburgh--including his wife and his career in the police force--the former Detective Inspector is intent on repairing past relationships and restoring his parents' derelict cottage. His plans are interrupted when an unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog. The only clue to its identity is a DNA match to a local farmer, the now-senile Tormod Macdonald--the father of Fin's childhood sweetheart, Marsaili--a man who has claimed throughout his life to be an only child, practically an orphan. Reluctantly drawn into the investigation, Fin uncovers deep family secrets even as he draws closer to the killer who wishes to keep them hidden. 

This book is already an international bestseller and winner of numerous awards, including France's Prix des Lecteurs du Telegramme.


Check the author's website for excerpts from all 3 books in the series!


I love this series! Fin is down to earth- he is in pain and not sure what he wants to do with all the revelations from the first book. Some he has no choice on (divorce), others (going home) he chooses. In trying to find his way back to where his future diverted from what he had hoped for, he is hoping to find the keys to his future. Unfortunately he was and is at heart a good detective, so when he gets dragged into a 'family' mystery, he finds himself undigging the past and finding hope for the future, while he discovers who the 'peat man' is.  This is a roller coast read that will have you turning pages, eager to see how it ends and thrilled with the surprises along the way! Don't miss this one!

Book 3 in the series is The Chessmen, and I hope to reviewing it soon!

About the Author

Peter May is the multi award-winning author, who has also had a successful career as a television writer, creator, and producer.

Born and raised in Scotland, May lives in France. One of Scotland's most prolific television dramatists, he garnered more than 1000 credits in 15 years as scriptwriter and script editor on prime-time British television drama. He is the creator of three major television drama series and presided over two of the highest-rated serials in his homeland before quitting television to concentrate on his first love, writing novels.

After being turned down by all the major UK publishers, this novel was published in France as L'Ile des Chasseurs d'Oiseaux, where it was hailed as "a masterpiece" by the French national newspaper L'Humanit√©. His novels have a large following in France. The Lewis trilogy has won several French literature awards, including one of the world's largest adjudicated readers awards, the Prix Cezam.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logo