Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Book Review: Holding by Graham Norton

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book, free of charge,from Atria Books,via Netgalley,  for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it all opinions are my own.


Still sticking with the 'Staycation'?

How about a trip to Ireland?

holding covetr

Synopsis:


From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the “sparkling and impish” (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime.

The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke—a former lover of two different inhabitants—the village’s dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community’s worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.

In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore—with searing honesty—the complexities and contradictions that make us human.


Review:

If you've watched the Graham Norton show on BBC (and now on Youtube), then you know that he is a natural story teller, and likely prone to making up some great dialogue, so it comes as NO surprise that he has written a quite readable novel, full of quirky but unforgettable characters! Norton actually does a very fine job in crafting a mystery within a mystery, set in a small Irish village, where secrets are always deeply buried. Til they come out at the construction site! LOL. The book is a great Summer read (it comes out August 1st) , thanks to it's page turning plot, characters that jump off the page, and a story that feels like it came from a veteran novelist! In fact, I wouldn't mind reading a new book featuring PJ Collins, and his next adventure! So if you're looking for something new and different, be sure to check this one out!


About the Author:

Graham William Walker is an Irish actor, comedian, television presenter and columnist, known by his stage name Graham Norton. He is the host of the comedy chat show The Graham Norton Show and the BBC commentator of the Eurovision Song Contest.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logo