> Bless Their Hearts Mom: Book Review: Not Safe After Dark: And Other Stories Peter Robinson
Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Book Review: Not Safe After Dark: And Other Stories Peter Robinson

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook free of charge,from Harper Collins, via Edelweiss, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it,  all opinions are my own.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sleeping in the Ground comes this brilliantly nuanced short-story collection of twenty stories—most never before published in the US, and one of them an Edgar winner—which also features three Inspector Banks tales


“American readers who know Robinson only through his nine Inspector Banks novels are in for a treat...The finish throughout is faultless.” —Kirkus Reviews

Peter Robinson pens thrilling tales rich with keen observations, pitch perfect dialogue, and shocking plot twists that have fascinated readers all over the world and made him one of the greatest suspense novelists alive. His acclaimed novels featuring Detective Inspector Alan Banks rank among the most celebrated police procedural series in modern fiction. In Not Safe After Dark, Robinson showcases once again his extraordinary talents with a collection of twenty stories.

In “Going Back”, Inspector Banks’ trip to celebrate his parents’ Golden Anniversary reveals how evil can wear many disguises. In the Edgar Award-winning “Missing in Action”, the disappearance of a young boy in the early days of WWII sparks a mob mentality with chilling results. “Innocence” captures the desperate plight of a man trapped by a set of coincidences that derail his life and lead him down a path he was destined to travel. The title story, “Not Safe After Dark,” is an exhilarating tale with a sudden conclusion that will leave readers’ hearts pounding.

Not Safe After Dark deftly explores the darkest edges of humanity in which everyday people must commit desperate acts as they face fear, temptation, and impulses too irresistible to control.


This is a reissue from 2004, with some additions, and includes many short stories of Peters, that I had not read. In the preface he explains how short stories allow an author to expand and approach different ideas, and enable different characters in different settings than they normally would especially when they have a serious that is very popular. In this collection, Peter shows what a wonderful writer he is, for the mystery and Thriller field, by the variation of stories. Perfect her reading at 20 minute intervals, this is a great book to have with you, while waiting on the kids for practice, as it doesn't involve a huge time amount per story. Yet, each story is unique and complete in its own way, allowing the reader to imagine the before and after scenes. If you like Peters work,  you'll really love this book. If you haven't,  it's a good way to get used to his writing, and I highly recommend it.

About the Author

One of the world’s most popular and acclaimed writers, Peter Robinson is the bestselling, award-winning author of the Inspector Banks series; he has also written two short-story collections and three standalone novels, which combined have sold more than ten million copies around the world. Among his many honors and prizes are the Edgar Award, the CWA (UK) Dagger in the Library Award, and Sweden’s Martin Beck Award. He divides his time between Toronto and England.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logo