> Bless Their Hearts Mom: Book Review: Off the Grid by Robert McCaw
Monday, June 17, 2019

Book Review: Off the Grid by Robert McCaw

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook, free of charge,from Ocenaview Publishing,  via Edelweissplus, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it, all opinions are my own.



Our traveling mystery day lands us in Paradise- Hawaii, with a new series, perfect for fans of James Lee Burke’s Dave Robicheaux

off the grid cover

Synopsis:

A scrap of cloth fluttering in the wind leads Hilo police Chief Detective Koa Kāne to the tortured remains of an unfortunate soul left to burn in the path of an advancing lava flow. For Koa, it’s the second gruesome homicide of the day, and he soon discovers the murders are linked. These grisly crimes on Hawaiʻi’s Big Island could rewrite history―or cost Chief Detective Koa Kāne his career.
The dead, a reclusive couple living off the grid, turn out to be mysterious fugitives. The CIA, the Chinese government, and the Defense Intelligence Agency, attempt to thwart Koa’s investigation and obscure the victims’ true identities. Undeterred by mounting political pressure, Koa pursues the truth only to find himself drawn into a web of international intrigue.
While Koa investigates, the Big Island scrambles to prepare for the biggest and most explosive political rally in its history. Despite police resources stretched to the breaking point, Koa uncovers a government conspiracy so shocking its exposure topples senior officials far beyond Hawaiʻi’s shores.

Review:

Our second book today is also a new series to me, and Book 2 in this new Hawaiian series (book 1 was Death of a Messenger)! I will definitely be staying with this series as this is a tight little mystery that sends the reader off in different directions, even as Koa is leading them to the true reason for the murders. Perfect for a beach read, this book will have you planning a tip to Hilo when you're done, and eagerly awaiting book 3.!


About the Author:

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family traveling the world. After graduating from Georgetown University, he served as a lieutenant in the US Army before earning his law degree from the University of Virginia. After law school he spent a year as a judicial clerk for Supreme Court Justice Hugo L. Black. Thereafter, he was a partner in a major international law firm with offices in Washington, DC, and New York City, representing clients in complex civil and criminal cases.

For a number of years, McCaw has maintained a home on the Big Island of Hawaiʻi, studying its history, culture, and people. In researching this book, he consulted with Hawaiʻi County cops and walked the streets, courthouse corridors, and parks where much of this story takes place. Over the past twenty years he has hiked extensively in Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park and roamed the back roads around nearby Volcano Village, where colorful characters living off the grid abound. Bob lives with his wife, Calli, who is a photographer, in New York City and Hawaiʻi.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logoHomeschool Review Crew