> Bless Their Hearts Mom: Book Review: Things in Jars by Jess Kidd
Monday, January 13, 2020

Book Review: Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book from Atria Books, via Netgalley,  free of charge, for review purposes on this blog. No compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it, all opinions are my own


In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.

things in jars cover

Synopsis:

Bridie Devine—female detective extraordinaire—is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.

Review:

What can I say about this book, but WOW. Talk about a book grabbing you from literally the first page and not letting you go! I read this one LATE into the early hours of the morning, and had I NOT literally fallen asleep reading, would have stayed up to finish it! Jess weaves an amazing tale of a modern lass in spirit, in a Victorian times, with all the oddities that were around! It's Gothic, it's fun, it's police procedural, it's just spell binding! You'll be yelling and cheering, sad and upset with the injustive of a different time! Bridie, and her crew, will stay in your mind long after you finish reading this book! Do NOT miss this one!


About the Author:

Jess Kidd is an award-winning author with a PhD in creative writing from St. Mary’s University in London. She grew up as part of a large family from Ireland’s County Mayo and now lives in London with her daughter. Her first book, Himself, was shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards. Learn more at JessKidd.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logoHomeschool Review Crew