> Bless Their Hearts Mom: Book Review: Fire and Vengeance by Robert McCaw
Monday, June 1, 2020

Book Review: Fire and Vengeance by Robert McCaw

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this ebook from Independent Publishers group, via EdelweissPlus, free of charge, for review purposes on this blog. No compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it, all opinions are my own


A heinous conspiracy—a volcano exacting revenge—an island paradise in anguish

Fire and Vengeance cover

Synopsis:

Having killed his father’s nemesis and gotten away with it, Hilo, Hawaiʻi Chief Detective Koa Kāne, is not your ordinary cop. Estranged from his younger brother, who has been convicted of multiple crimes, he is not from a typical law enforcement family. Yet, Koa’s secret demons fuel his unwavering drive to pursue justice.

Never has Koa’s motivation been greater than when he learns that an elementary school was placed atop a volcanic vent, which has now exploded. The subsequent murders of the school’s contractor and architect only add urgency to his search for the truth.

As Koa’s investigation heats up, his brother collapses in jail from a previously undiagnosed brain tumor. Using his connections, Koa devises a risky plan to win his brother’s freedom. As Koa gradually unravels the obscure connections between multiple suspects, he uncovers a 40 year-old conspiracy. When he is about to apprehend the perpetrators, his investigation suddenly becomes entwined with his brother’s future, forcing Koa to choose between justice for the victims and his brother’s freedom.

Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and James Lee Burke


Review:

This is the third Koa Kāne Hawaiian Mystery, and just as enjoyable as the first. Every time I read one of these books I learn even more about Ha'waii! My parents lived there for 3 years, so we got to see alot of Oahu, and learn about the other islands, and culture. But there is always something new to learn, as this book shows! Besides that though, you get a well laid out political mystery- who is behind the explosion, who is to blame, and who is killing to cover up that crime. It's a convulted web of lies and deceit, that Koa has to work through while facing a time limit to solve it and a family crisis. This one will keep you turning pages long into the night! it's like a vacation from your stay-cation! Don't miss it!


About the Author:

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family traveling the world. After graduating from Georgetown University, he served as a lieutenant in the U.S. Army before earning his law degree from the University of Virginia. After law school he spent a year as a judicial clerk for Supreme Court Justice Hugo L. Black. Thereafter, he was a partner in a major international law firm with offices in Washington, D.C. and New York City, representing clients in complex civil and criminal cases. For a number of years, McCaw maintained a home on the Big Island of Hawaii, studying its history, culture, and people. Putting himself in the shoes of Detective Koa Kāne, he has walked the streets, courthouse corridors, and parks of Hawaii’s Big Island. Bob lives in New York City with his wife, Calli


No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logoHomeschool Review Crew