> Bless Their Hearts Mom: Book Spotlight: Hawthorne Woods by Patrick Canning (giveaway)
Wednesday, August 5, 2020

Book Spotlight: Hawthorne Woods by Patrick Canning (giveaway)

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this giveaway, free of charge,from Smith Publicity, for giveaway purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about them. All opinions are my own.



Hawthorn Woods by Patrick Canning a suburban thriller sent in the late 1980's that should appeal to fans of Stranger Things and Big Little Lies. 

hawthorne woods banner


Synopsis:

Hawthorn Woods centers on Francine, who is reeling from a catastrophic divorce she just can’t seem to leave behind. She retreats for a two-week stay at her sister’s house in the picturesque town of Hawthorn Woods, Illinois. The quaint neighborhood of shady trees and friendly neighbors seems like the perfect place to sort through her pain and finally move on with her life—but the tranquility doesn’t last long.

Beginning with a complete stranger throwing a drink in her face at her own welcome party, Francine soon discovers the supposedly idyllic suburb is hiding a disturbing number of mysteries. She quickly changes her vacation prescription from one of relaxation, to one of investigation, as she tries to figure out which of the smiling neighbors has a secret they’d kill to keep?

A perfect page turner to escape into during the summer months, Hawthorn Woods is sure to keep readers guessing at what’s happening behind closed doors.


Author Interview:

Question: Tell us what Hawthorn Woods is all about.
Patrick Canning: The book is set in the summer of 1989 in a small, seemingly peaceful suburb of Chicago. It centers on Francine, who is recovering from a messy divorce. She decides to stay at her sister’s house in the suburb of Hawthorn Woods, Illinois for a change of scenery. What she thinks will be a peaceful two weeks to unwind and heal quickly turns into anything but. It all begins when a total stranger angrily throws a drink in Francine’s face at her welcome party. She soon uncovers even more mysterious people around the neighborhood and a lot of sinister stuff happening behind closed doors. The deeper she digs, the darker the secrets get.

Q: What inspired you to write Hawthorn Woods?
Canning: Hawthorn Woods is a real neighborhood where I grew up in Illinois during the 1980s. I wanted to revisit the magic of summer during that era, and also give readers a mysterious page-turner where they can’t help but wonder what’s going to happen next. While a lot of the setting is based off the actual neighborhood, all of the more horrifying mysteries are pure fiction. At least, that I know of…

Q: Who will Hawthorn Woods appeal to?
Canning: I think anyone who appreciated the mystery and drama of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and the 80’s nostalgia of Stranger Things will enjoy losing themselves in the quaint, creepy town of Hawthorn Woods. Readers who look for a twisty plot and dynamic characters in an interesting setting, will find plenty to like in Hawthorn Woods.

Q: Hawthorn Woods is a domestic thriller, but your other two novels, Crytopfauna and The Colonel and the Bee were both different genres. What made you want to write a thriller this time around?
Canning: The genres I write in are definitely eclectic. I basically choose whatever story I think I can write best at the moment. But whether it’s a thriller or a historical adventure, what’s important with fiction is creating a book that people can use to escape, explore, and grow.

hawthorne woods cover


flashing Win

Giveaway:
One BTHM reader will win a paperback copy of this new book!


About the Author:

PATRICK CANNING is the author of three novels, including Cryptofauna (2018), The Colonel and the Bee (2018), and his latest, Hawthorn Woods (2020). He has also published several short stories. When he isn’t writing, he enjoys playing beach volleyball, following space exploration, and losing at bar trivia. Patrick lives in Los Angeles with his dog Hank, who some consider to be the greatest dog of all time. More on Patrick at www.patrickcanningbooks.com


No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow Bless Their Hearts Mom

BTHM Bloglovin button BTHM Facebook button BTHM instagram button BTHM Pinterest button BTHM Twitter button Newsletter:  bthm heart email.jpg bthm kindle logoHomeschool Review Crew